top of page

Letters to the Editor:I find it unbelievable how cut off I feel from our local RAF base at lossiemo


I find it unbelievable how cut off I feel from our local RAF base at lossiemouth and the former RAF base at Kinloss.

I know I'm not the only one who feels this way and I echo the words of many people I know as I write you this letter.

For decades we have had two, more recently one RAF Base in Moray and in all that time I can't think of one event either base have put on showcasing what they do for the local residents.

Every year the Base at Lossiemouth holds a family and friends day and every year the rest of us are shut out looking in from the outside and looking to the AIR for something we might catch a glimpse of.

I can't believe for one minute that RAF Lossiemouth couldn't put an Air Display on for the people of Moray. We have wide open sky's all around the Base with many places on the coast line that people could gather to watch, it would beat any other area hands down for viewpoints.

I remember when the two camps were under threat of closing and the whole community came out on that cold day to save the camp and put pressure on the Westminster government, we signed petitions by our thousands.

I like most people in Moray thought RAF Lossiemouth would have put something on to thank the people of Lossiemouth, but again it was just family and friends.

They tell me security would be a problem but guess what, it was a problem for thousands of Moray folk fighting Westminster to keep you all in a job and keep the RAF in Moray but we put ourselves out and fought like a thousand worriers to keep you here.

I don't look for gratitude, I look for integration with your families and ours.

Catherine from Lossiemouth.

Please send in any letters to the editor at aroundmoray@gmail.com. We will never take sides or offer our opinion just make sure its clean please


Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page